top of page

Regardless

I would’ve felt like I was doing the guys and the Carolina community a disservice if I didn’t write about you-know-what. Even though it’s honestly the last thing I want to think more about - and you probably the same.


Yeah, the outcome wasn’t what we wanted - especially the players, Coach Davis and his staff, and the players’ families. Maybe it sucked even more because it was so close. Or that the army of the greatest fans in the country undoubtedly wanted this way more for our team than you-know-whose.


I’m actually glad I wasn’t physically at the game because I think I wouldn’t have been able to stop myself from storming the court and hugging each and every one of the guys before their families even got to them. (You’re not helping, Erin.)


I know how they felt. I know that deep ache that stuns you. And the confusion between letting the tears flow but also wanting to punch a wall and scream. I know the desire to turn back time, wake up again, and do it all over.


Not qualifying for the Olympics and missing it by just one goal, described above, is a pretty similar feeling, I imagine. And it makes me sad to think that our amazing, inspiring, and powerful group of ballers now knows what I’m talking about.


The only good thing that I promise is worth it in a sense? That feeling will forever drive them, motivate them, and piss them off like no other. And you know what that means? It means anything anyone said about the program’s and each guy’s future being bright couldn’t be more true.

Regardless of the outcome, the past week has given me even more remarkable memories that I never thought I would be lucky enough to carry with me forever. All thanks to Carolina Basketball.


Not only did this crew teach us numerous lessons throughout the season and earn the respect of literally everyone, they gave us - especially those in Chapel Hill - one hell of a ride. They gave us something not many can say they experienced while at college either.


I have never been with so many people at one time, who genuinely wanted something so badly for a group. I have never stopped, stood, looked around, and been amazed that I could have easily been standing in a movie scene on so many occasions. I have never cheered so loudly, over such a long period of time, with everyone matching each other’s energy.


Carolina Basketball, you gave us stories that we will tell our grandkids about. You showed us what it means to believe in yourself and in each other. You were the reason the city had no choice but to shut down roads and the reason students stood in lines for hours just to get their hands on a ticket or a newspaper. You gave us a reason to stay up late, forget reality, and not have a care in the world except what we were going to wear for the next game day.

You are so much more than an outcome. Just think about what you’ve done.


And the beautiful standard you’ve set for generations of players, students, and fans to admire, live up to, and continue to hold for years to come.


Thank you, now more than ever, Carolina Basketball.


“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” - Eleanor Roosevelt.
IMG_8859_edited.jpg

Hey, thanks for stopping by!

Click the "About Me" button to briefly read a little bit more about...me! And under that, you can also subscribe to my blog posts so you're the first to get an inside scoop. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • TikTok
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
bottom of page