top of page

Good Food is a Mood

Okay, wanna know a secret?


I love food.


Alright, fine. I guess that wasn’t a secret - not even a little bit.


I am a total foodie!! Whether it’s take-out, a home cooked meal, a bougie restaurant, or grabbing food and drinks with friends, there is just something I love about enjoying a good meal.


Maybe it’s experimenting with new recipes, adventuring to new restaurants, or trying different cultural plates. Maybe it's seeing how all the flavors work together and having appreciation for the presentation. But if I’m being completely honest, I think the conversations and memories that are a result of everyone being together at a table are priceless.


So, naturally, if you ever need a recommendation … I gotchu!


Here are quick thoughts on my go-to eateries in Chapel Hill, ranging from early morning coffee shops to romantic dinner dates. They’re in no particular order, and I’m bad with favorites, so feel free to scroll to whatever occasion your curious about.


Let’s see what Chapel Hill brings to the table! (Laugh. That was good.)



Coffee:


  • What can’t a 3x Olympic Gold Medalist, FIFA World Cup Winner, and mom-of-two do?! With their restaurant next door being one of the most popular places on Franklin Street, it’s no shock that Heather O'Reilly and her husband’s new coffee shop is a must-visit. The coffee is strong, and the pastries are delicious! Definitely going to be my new study spot when I can't be in my room anymore.

  • Fun fact: Her husband did the interior designing, and you should definitely check it out to give him some credit. How cute!

Starbucks
  • Call me basic; I’ll wear it. But what would we do without the classics?! The brick wall, Carolina Blue artwork inside this particular Starbucks makes it one of my favorite ones I’ve ever been in.


"People who love to eat are always the best people." - Julia Child



Breakfast:


  • Ask 10 athletes on campus where their favorite açaí bowl place is, and I bet 9/10 say Purple Bowl. Paula and her remarkable family make this place feel like home, and the food is even better.

  • I’ve been on this Earth for almost 22 years, and I have yet to find avocado toast as good as theirs. Maybe it’s love, maybe it’s how much fun the workers have, or maybe it’s … (oh wait that’s a secret!)

  • The smoothies, energy balls, wellness shots, and toasts all get an A+ too.

  • Again, an amazing owner with an amazing story. I don’t know Alex super duper well, but I do know he is passionate, intelligent, driven, kind, and knows how to run one hell of a business.

  • Everyone knows a true New York bagel, and believe me, these (*clap*) are (*clap*) them (*clap*). There are so many different flavors of bagels along with numerous options for deli sandwiches and more!

  • A hidden secret is Brandwein’s cookies … you don’t want to leave without trying one! Somehow, mine never makes it to “dessert.”

  • When I find a place with amazing food and a really cool interior and vibe, it stands out to me. Not only is the food soooo good, but the history and story Carolina Coffee Shop captures and tells is so unique and different. The almond milk latte is perfection, and you could close your eyes, point to something random on the menu, and be thrilled.

  • Heather and Dave, props to you both on two of my - and many others' - favorite places on Franklin!!

  • A Carolina classic. In the mood for a typical yet delicious, Sunday morning breakfast? Hit up Breadmen’s. But make sure you call ahead or have the time, because this place is always hoppin’ on a Sunday morning! I wonder why...

  • The story behind the name adds even more charm and character too.


"I don't want to look back and think, 'I could've eaten that.' " - Unknown



Lunch/Casual Dinner:


  • My. Goodness. This place is phenomenal any day of the week.

  • (1) I guess they understand college kids loving leftovers because, man, you get what you pay for! (2) Everything is so fresh and clean while being super flavorful. The Mediterranean diet does not mess around, and Med Deli doesn’t mess with it. (3) The best is when it’s sunny and warm out and the front windows/doors are open so you can enjoy the hustle and bustle of the college main street - hard to give it enough credit, so you’ll have to check it out for yourself!

  • You can’t be a UNC student, fan, professor, anyone without loving Sutton’s. It’s been around since 1923, and they have it ALL. Hamburgers, hot dogs, wraps, breakfast, old-school candy, gourmet pickles - you name it.

  • Have fun playing “Where’s Waldo” with Tar Heel legends since countless pictures, jerseys, and autographs line the walls. Sutton’s is exactly what it says on the menu, “A Tar Heel Tradition!”

  • Fun fact: The pharmacy in the back is still in use!

  • Fun fact #2: Pre-COVID, Sutton's used have a food truck outside of arguably the best bar at UNC, Pantana Bob's, which - cmon now - was irresistible when the bars closed on a Saturday night. The glorious truck is still there, yet we all dream of the day Macaroni Bites come flowing out the window again.

  • Oh, Cava. This chain is now growing even faster than before, and I think it puts anything like Chipotle to shame. It's mediterranean, yet again, and nothing but delicious.

  • Clean, simple, fresh, and leaving you satisfied no matter what time you go. Whether you order off the menu or make your own creation, you won't be disappointed.

  • I'm spoiled where I have one near my house in PA now too - yikes!

  • You know when you’re walking in a city and see somewhere that looks like it’s either closed or would have you next to the toilet for an entire day? But it turns out to be adorable inside and one of the yummiest meals you’ve had in a while (plus no toilet needed)? Shanghai Dumpling is my new-found love when I’m in the mood for some vegetable spring rolls and dumplings. Who knew?!

  • Sandwiches/Wraps/Salads/Beer/Wine. Nuff said. TRU is another adorable spot with fresh ingredients and a cozy-chill vibe. You’ll catch students doing homework here, athletes grabbing lunch to-go, or maybe you'll overhear the tea-spilling during a GNO-wine-night.

"Food may be essential as fuel for the body, but good food is fuel for the soul." - Malcom Forbes



Dinner/Date-Night/Sit-Down:


  • Two words: Steak. Rolls.

  • I am pescatarian, but when I do want to treat myself and break my own rules, Stoney is the first place I think to go. Absolutely everything on this menu is fire, and the steaks are always cooked to perfection. The vibe is cool, you get bread rolls (automatic brownie points), and I envision a wine cellar like theirs in my dream home.

  • But if I had to pick the perfect meal from their menu, I would choose steak rolls for an appetizer, steak rolls for dinner, and then an order of steak rolls to-go. Trust me, you’ll want the same eventually.

  • This place is my boyfriend and I’s current obsession in Chapel Hill!! As you know by now, I love a good interior design job paired with yummy food, and Ben appreciates the same!

  • This Italian restaurant totally leaves you in a food coma and is one of the newest, bougiest spots near campus. It’s perfect for date-night, and the drinks are suuuper great too. 10/10 for this new gem!

  • The owner of Lucha, Khoa, is practically the field hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse team’s private chef. I don’t ever want to know - or my parents to know for that matter - how much money my friends and I have spent here because it is JUST. THAT. GOOD!!

  • When I try to describe this “Latin-Asian” restaurant to newbies, I always get a confused look. But the minute anyone smells and tastes the food, they’re hooked too. Khoa knows what the people want, and he does a fantastic job giving it to ‘em!

  • The ‘shared supper’ at Tandem is to die for. Imagine an entire pot of creamy mashed potatoes, a separate pot of mixed vegetables, and a plank covered by bone-in steak and chimichurri. Uh…yeah. When Ben and I order this for just the two of us, the waiter makes sure to remind us how much food it really is. But then again, they don’t know what two athletes can put down! (Or how much two athletes love a challenge…)

  • Another dope interior doesn’t go unnoticed either. Oh! - and I recently discovered their brunch is just as good, if not better. Tandem FTW!

  • Ask my parents, my coach, my scholarship donors, one of my best friends, and probably the rest of the Chapel Hill community what their favorite, classic Italian restaurant is and you’ll hear, “411.” Makes sense because it is nothing short of spectacular.

  • You know a menu is good when you can get a different thing every time and still be in love. My only request is that you save room for dessert because the tiramisu is to die for, and the presentation is adorable!! *chef’s kiss*

  • Lastly, Iza is another really cool and really good Asian restaurant. Let’s hear it again for the portion sizes! The food here is seriously mouth-watering. Don’t get me started with the tuna tartare and the ramen dish...

  • It helps that the chef is a down-to-earth homie too. I don’t know his name, but when Ben and I went for a later dinner one night and were one of his last orders, he made us feel comfortable, told us not to rush, and looked so content enjoying a dish he rewarded himself with. Gotta appreciate kind, hardworking people who love what they do!


On the Bucket List:


Well, here I was thinking this was going to be a short blog, but I guess I can’t even control my love for quality meals even when it comes to writing about them. Or I just really love Chapel Hill and all the places that make it special.


Let me know your thoughts too! Now, go either treat yourself to a meal you’ve been thinking about, or have some fun in the kitchen!


"Cooking is all about people. Food is maybe the only universal thing that has the power to bring everyone together. No matter what culture, everywhere around the world, people eat together." - Guy Fieri


IMG_8859_edited.jpg

Hey, thanks for stopping by!

Click the "About Me" button to briefly read a little bit more about...me! And under that, you can also subscribe to my blog posts so you're the first to get an inside scoop. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • TikTok
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
bottom of page